TWoL – July, Cafe and Finances

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


August 06, 2017

Hello everyone! There has been a lot going on this month; our DTS graduated, France had her National Day on the 14th, we got the cafe, we had a large youth group missions team come through, and they helped to start renovating the cafe! Lots of good stuff. In this newsletter though, I want to tell you more about my current financial state and our new cafe.

My Finances

Firstly, I want to apologize to all of you for not inviting you before to partner with me in building God’s kingdom here in France. During my time here the past two and a half years, I have not been fully supported on a monthly basis. In the past, God provided through a number of different ways. At the beginning of this year, however, He did something different: He seemed to withhold His provision. For months and months I figured I just wasn’t trying hard enough and should try harder in many different ways. I’ve tried that for a long time now and it has not worked. (Legally, I am not allowed to get a job in France because of my visa.) Just recently, God pointed out to me how I have not been asking people for help. I have hidden behind my pride and my shame and tried to do it all in my own strength, but building His kingdom is bigger than my pride or my shame. It’s not about me. It’s about Him. It’s His kingdom and not my own that we are building here.

He also showed me that by not giving my pride and shame to Him, I kept my needs hidden and therefore I have withheld from you all the invitation and opportunity to participate in the ministry God has given me here. I have kept from you opportunities to be a blessing and to participate in building His kingdom. I have hindered the building of His kingdom by continuing in my pride. For this I apologize as well and ask for your forgiveness.

In light of this, I would like to share with you where my needs are at currently. I owe the base here for several months of rent that I have not had the support to be able to pay. This month we also have a national YWAM France staff conference that I also need to raise money for. The total about of debt plus the amount I need for the conference is about $2,285. This week I will be able to make a payment of $725 because of some donations and other random things. That leaves about $1560 that I need to raise. This is what I need your help in most right now. I would like to invite you (in the way I should have before) to pray and consider joining me in building God’s kingdom here in France by partnering with me financially right now. 

Regarding my current monthly support,I now have just enough to almost cover all my expenses each month. It is enough that I will not continue to go into debt, but it is still not enough for me to do all that I believe God has put on my heart.

If you would like to partner with me, you can do so by clicking below and donating through my fundraiser page (not tax deductible). If you would like your donation to be tax deductible, you can email me for alternative ways of giving or visit my blog and click on the support page. On my support page you can also set up monthly tax deductible donations.

 

DONATE HERE

Our New Cafe

This month we were able to begin work on our new cafe! Below you can find a video walk through of the entire building. (It is a really long video) It has been an incredible journey of God’s provision in how we were able to acquire this building. We were originally looking at another cafe altogether, but the dealings with the owner fell through. In the end, the he became very difficult and we let that cafe go even though we were ready to purchase. God is amazing though, because every time we prayed for that cafe, He had us pray for the owner as well. There has been almost a year of intercession poured out over him.

A little while after we released that cafe, Dudley Weiner (who started our base with his wife) received information from someone outside of France about another cafe available in our town. Within about ten days, he had met the owners to look at it, we as staff had prayed about the new building, God told us yes, we made an offer, and a price was agreed upon. It was such a quick and simple process with confirmations along the way that we know it has been God’s doing.

This new building is perfect for our needs. Seven years ago, it used to be a bed and breakfast type business. The ground floor has an cafe and restaurant, and the two floors above have a total of ten bedrooms. It is perfect because we have begun to outgrow the chateau we are living in now. This will give us a place to house teams, interns, or possibly some staff. Also, the entire building is less than the cost of just the ground floor of the first location we were considering. God is so good! While this new location is not in the center of town, it is right next to the middle school in town. We believe this will be an even better location for bringing God’s kingdom to the people of our town.

This last month we hosted a youth group missions trip from the States for a week. There were more than thirty people on the team. They helped us a ton with the first round of renovations on the cafe! They removed the garbage, scraped and cleaned the ceilings and walls, and even got a coat of paint up in one of the rooms. It was a great blessing to have them with us.

 

 

Update on Katie

Katie is doing well in Australia. She will be announcing her outreach locations very soon. She will be going to several places over the course of eight months. Right now, she is almost half-way through her lecture phase in Australia. It has been a very busy school. We have also found that it did not work to communicate by only writing letters. Now we have just been taking it one day and week at a time to figure out the best way to communicate given both our workloads. Her birthday is today actually, August 6. Overall, we are doing very well. 🙂

I am very proud of her for making this choice to do this school. It has taken sacrifice in many areas, but it is what God has asked her to do. I couldn’t be more proud of her. She is an amazing woman!

If you would like to know more about her and her ministry you can follow her on Facebook or let me know and I will happily connect you with her. You can CLICK HERE to be taken to her Facebook profile page.

Praise Reports and Prayer Requests

  • We have the cafe and renovations have started! God is so faithful!
  • Please be praying for my financial situation and that God would move on the hearts of people to partner with me in building His kingdom.
  • Katie is doing really well and learning a lot of things that she loves in her Birth Attendant School. Please keep praying for continued encouragement and strength from the Lord for her. It is a marathon that she is running by doing this school.
  • Please be praying for me that I would continue to grow in more intimacy with the Lord.

Thank you everyone for all your continued encouragement and support. If there are any questions you have, please let me know. I love to answer questions. You can check out my blog for any recent newsletters, random musings of mine, or ways to support. 🙂

-Justin

Leave a Reply

