TWoL – June, Hospitality and Refuge

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


July 02, 2017

Hello everyone!

This month, I want to talk about one of the values that we are called to here at YWAM Bridges of Life: to be a place of hospitality and refuge. This is just one of five of our values and I will be talking about a revelation that God gave me recently about how we walk this out. Firstly, though, the video below explains a bit about who we are and what our values mean. Check it out.

 

 

The Norway Team

A couple weeks ago, we had a DTS team from YWAM Oslo in Norway come and stay with us for a week. While they were here, they helped us with a lot of practical projects. Many times, when teams come, they help us in this way. They clear ground, build walls, move rocks, shovel gravel, clean gardens and many other things like this. In the past, I used to wonder how this was serving the Lord. I would try to imagine what I would think if I was on a team like this who came to a chateau that is already charming and then had to help improve it all the while calling it serving the Lord. Then I would think back to my times on mission trips and how we would help “poor churches” clean and repair their buildings, and that made sense to do. But this is a beautiful chateau and not a “poor church”. Why use our resources to improve it? Shouldn’t we be finding a “poor church” somewhere to improve instead? 

The other day, the Norway team put down a bunch of new yellow gravel in one of our courtyards that used to look not so great. They had it cleaned up and looking amazing. Later, I walked out into that courtyard and instantly I was overwhelmed by the sense of peace and rest that the new gravel created. The way the colors and the shapes and the contrasts all went together made me feel at peace and restful. Then, I believe God gave me the revelation that this is a big part of how we are to be a place of hospitality and refuge.

The things one does with the ground and the dirt and the walls all changes the feel of a place. Anyone who has worked in a garden of renovated something knows this. That is why we direct our resources into improving an already nice place instead of a “poor church” somewhere. By investing in the appearance of the chateau, we are doing our best to be faithful to what God has asked is to do: be a place of hospitality and refuge. We do our part and He does His part. We do this because it is what He has asked us to do. He has not asked us to rebuild “poor churches” (not yet at least), but He has asked us to be a place of hospitality and refuge. Obedience to this is the best thing that we can do.

Below is a video from around the beginning of this year. It is a tour of our chateau. You can compare with the picture above some of the improvements that have been done since this video was taken. When you look at the picture, you might be able to feel for yourself how just even a few changes can create a far more inviting and hospitable place.

This is by far not the only way in which we walk out our calling of hospitality and refuge, but it is one of them, and it is an important one. 

 

 

Katie

My girlfriend, Katie, was able to come through France for a couple days on her way to Australia. It was so great to get to see her, but the time went by far too fast. We did get to do several fun things in here time here, though. We got to go hiking to a church on top of a cliff in a village called Corconne not too far from here. The church had a beautiful cross in front of it. We took pictures and had a picnic. It was lovely.  

One evening, we tried to go out for a fancy dinner, but the restaurants in our village had all stopped serving food for the night. It made a laugh quite a bit, and then we came back to the chateau to eat dinner there all dressed up. Not how we had planned it to go but still a lot of fun and probably a much better experience.

It was really hard to say goodbye after such a short time, but I am so thankful that I got to see her before her next school starts. She will be attending an eleven month long Birth Attendant School with YWAM in Perth, Australia. The first three months will be there in Perth followed by eight months of a practical phase in developing nations. During this time we have chosen to communicate almost completely by writing letter to one another so that we can each focus as fully as possible on what God has for us in this next year before moving forward in our relationship. It will be difficult (and already has been), but it will be well worth it because we both know that God is using this time to hone us individually in many ways. That part, we are looking forward to. I am very proud of her to making this choice to do this school. It has taken sacrifice in many areas, but it is what God has asked her to do. I couldn’t be more proud of her. 

Praise Reports and Prayer Requests

  • Please keep praying for my finances; I am not at a point yet where I can be as fruitful as possible, but God is good and faithful and He will get me there. My goal is to be at this place by the end of the year. If you would like to know more, just let me know.
  • It was such a great time with Katie! Please be praying for us during this next year, and please be praying for wisdom for me in this relationship.
  • Please keep praying for the cafe that we as a base are working on purchasing. I will write more in the next newsletter but we are very close to finalizing the purchase of this cafe.

Thank you everyone for all your continued encouragement and support. If there are any questions you have, please let me know. I love to answer questions. You can check out my blog for any recent newsletters, random musings of mine, or ways to support. 🙂

-Justin

Leave a Reply

