TWoL – March, Norway and More

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


02 April, 2017

Sorry again for the late newsletter. I am almost back on track with these. 🙂


Norway! 🙂

At the beginning of this month, I had the opportunity to travel to Norway with Dudley (the founder of Bridges of Life) and Hannah (a fellow member of our leadership team) for the purpose of teaching and learning. Dudley was invited to teach in two different Discipleship Training Schools, and Hannah and I accompanied him to help with the teaching and also to learn about another model of discipleship that they have been trying in Norway. We had the chance to visit YWAM Oslo (the capital of Norway) as well as YWAM Skien.

They call it “Discipleship Houses.” YWAM Oslo has been running them for a few years now. The basic idea is that small groups of believers come together to live in one house or apartment. They set up what they call “rhythms” that they all agree to be a part of. The idea of the “rhythms” is to encourage things like Bible reading, daily fellowship, or sharing of what God is doing in each others lives. The heart behind it it to help people be sustainable disciples of Jesus by living together in community with each other. Much along the lines of the Proverbs 27:17 “Iron sharpens iron, So one man sharpens another. (NIV)”

Both Hannah and myself have things God has placed on our hearts for the future that involves discipling people a little differently than how our YWAM Community currently does. How we do it now is not bad at all, but we both have different visions that need other models from which we can pull good principles. It was really helpful to be in Norway and learn what works and what could be better. Visiting YWAM Skien was a great time of pouring into those student and staff there as well as continuing to build friendships and bridges between them and us.


One Thing DTS Returned!

While we were gone, the One Thing DTS returned from their three month missions trip to Japan and Taiwan. They spent a week or so with us to debrief and process their time on outreach. It was amazing to see all that God had done in a through each of them! None of them came back as the same person that left. They also had really good testimonies of how God led them to random people who asked question after question about who God is or how God used trips to schools to teach English as amazing opportunities to share the Gospel. They had stories of sharing the Gospel with people who had never heard of Jesus before too!

They planted lots of seeds in those two countries that the Lord in now watering. They brought the kingdom of God into a dark place and let the light of Jesus shine out. They made a big impact. It was great to hear their stories of what God did.


Life Update.

Things have been going well here for me personally. It has been a hard couple months in some ways, but it has also been some of the best. God has been teaching me a lot about who He says I am and how He made me. He has been teaching me a lot about what a servant leader looks like and about how to disciple people like Jesus did. It has been really good. 🙂

My original two year commitment to YWAM Bridges of Life was completed this month as well. It is crazy to think that two years have gone by already. Back in fall last year, I extended my commitment for an additional three years with the possibility of more after that. I believe God told me that I am to focus on learning leadership and pioneering principles during this time.

As part of learning leadership and pioneering, I was asked to pray about being a part of the leadership team here that helps facilitate most of what we do as a community. I felt like God was saying that I should be a part of this so I have said yes. This was around the beginning of the year. It is through this that God has been teaching me more about leadership. It has been good. Leadership is far more about serving than it is about authority. 🙂

I am also planning on going to the States for several weeks from the end of April until the beginning of June. I will be in New Jersey, South Carolina, possibly Florida, and Arizona. If anyone would be interested in meeting up, please email me. 🙂

Also, I send out a prayer requests and praise report newsletter each Sunday and I would like to partner with more people who can commit to praying for me and this mission on a weekly basis. If you are interested in doing that, please let me know. 🙂


Prayer Requests

Please keep praying for my finances. I am in need of more monthly support to cover the basic costs of living here. I have gotten a specific donation to help with the cost of returning to the States but I still need more monthly support.

And also pray for me as I lead in this community. It has been good, but challenging at times as I adjust to having more responsibilities than I am used to. However, it has been fun learning more of who I am though this. 🙂

Please be praying for several people here in Saint Hippolyte du Fort that I want to come to know the love of the Father and have a personal relationship with Jesus. Please pray for: Chris and Catie; Madame Menard; Monsieur Gal; and some friends down the street. Thank you!


Thank you all for your encouragement. If you ever have any questions about what I am doing here or would like to hear more about something I share, please email me and let me know. I’d love to talk with you.

If you would like to support this mission financially, you can find all the ways to do so here. I do have options for tax deductible donations.

Thank you. 🙂

-Justin
JEM Ponts de Vie
2 Rue du Faubourg de Planque
30170 Saint Hippolyte du Fort
France

 


 

Donate Here

 


 

The castle of the King and Queen of Norway. Beautiful building and grounds. Also in Oslo, Norway.

 

A beautiful church near YWAM Skien in Norway.
Leave a Reply

