TWoL – August, Training

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


Issue #15 – August, Training
11 September 2016

First of all, apologies for the late newsletter. I try to send them out on the first Sunday of each month. This past Sunday however, I worked all day and did not have time.

This month has been some hard core training. We have had DTS staff training, base staff training, and a national YWAM France conference. Lots of training and lots of sitting haha (so thankful for coffee!). It has also been a lot of training of the heart, and some days that’s been harder.


Training With the Father

God has had me at this place where He has striped me of everything and I am left with the reality of how I feel and what I believe. He has shown me my defense mechanisms, ways that I lie to myself, and how I try to avoid conflict, and He has invited me to step out of those things and into the way of living that He designed. And oh my goodness that has been hard. I have had to be really vulnerable and honest. He has exposed how I determine my self worth and value and challenged me to let go of the way I have always operated and to get my self worth and value from Him.

So many times, I have felt like I was at the end of my rope with no idea how to move forward. It might sound like God was being cruel, but I asked for it. I asked Him to grow me, to hone me and take away the things that are not who He made me to be. Most of this summer has been like this for me, and it has been ultimately, really good! I have had breakthrough after breakthrough, and so when this month got even harder, a part of me thought it would mean the end of this season would be close. I figured with the DTS starting soon, God would wrap up the things He was doing in me and get me in a “good place” to lead.

Ha! Hahahaha! Man, I have got to stop thinking I can figure out His plans…

Guys, God really truly does not do things how we would do things. But His way of doing it is always better! A “good place” to lead from for me meant: feeling on top of things and ready and peaceful and having an overall senses of being very well prepared. To God, however, a “good place” seems to mean: feeling like I don’t know what I’m doing, feeling vulnerable, feeling like I don’t know how to do so many things, and feeling broken. He does this, I have found, so that my reliance is on Him and not on myself, my abilities, my experience, or on others. I also means that I get to lead from this place of brokenness. By brokenness, I mean a willingness to acknowledge my own faults and mistakes and make them right instead of hiding behind the excuse and trap of “being the leader.” By vulnerability, I mean telling my friend that I am scared to open up to them and share personal things and then doing it anyway.

If you noticed, I used “seams” and “feel” when I described how God means a “good place.” These are the feelings I experienced, but the truth that He has been bringing out in me is that, to Him, a “good place” means simply trusting Him through each step of the process and being honest with those around me. Simple.

God is good. I am so thankful for all this training. He has been growing me a lot over the course of these last few months and it has definitely been hard at times. But He is faithful and God and He has been right next to me the entire time. I am looking forward to this time of DTS as I am sure He will continue this process of growing me and preparing me.


Coming Up In September

This month the DTS starts. The students arrived on Friday the 9th and we had a great time welcoming them. We are really looking forward to all the Father will do in each of these guys during this school.

This month we will have our Orientation week which will include a trip to a museum of the region and a teaching on hearing the voice of God, as well as some other good teachings and information.

Then we will have a week of teach on the “Father heart of God” followed by a week on the “character of God.” We will also be announcing the outreach locations to the students on Friday the 23rd.

There is also a chance that, this month, we will be able to move into the cafe that we have been working on purchasing!


Prayer Requests

Please keep praying for my finances. I am in need of more monthly support to cover the basic costs of living here and I am also in need of one time donations to cover some past expenses from the previous months and also to cover the cost for staffing the outreach portion of the DTS which will take place in December and continue until March. (I will have more details public soon)

Also, please keep praying for the cafe. Donations have been coming in for the Matching Funds Campaign, which has been great. Pray for more staff who can specifically run the cafe once we have it open.

And also pray for me as I lead in this school. Specifically that I would have the courage to lead from this place of honesty and brokenness.


Thank you all for your encouragement. If you ever have any questions about what I am doing here or would like to hear more about something I share, please email me and let me know. I’d love to talk with you.

If you would like to support this mission financially, you can find all the ways to do so here. I do have an option for tax deductible donations.

Thank you. 🙂

-Justin

 

Tikiko showing us how Team Xtreme can blow up a hot water bottle during base staff training.
Tikiko showing us how Team Xtreme can blow up a hot water bottle during base staff training.

 

One of our speakers at the national conference talking about the Kingdom of God.
One of our speakers at the national conference talking about the Kingdom of God.

 

Some pictures from the city of Vannes where we held the YWAM France national conference.
Some pictures from the city of Vannes where we held the YWAM France national conference.
Leave a Reply

