TWoL – June, Ministry is Life

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


03 July 2016

Hi everyone! This month, I want to do something a little different with this newsletter. Just trying out a different structure. 😉

This season here at Bridges of Life is usually a very busy one; we have had many people come through here for various amounts of time. It is during these summer months that we are reminded of something I believe to be very important: “Ministry is life and life is ministry.” We often find ourselves very busy with logistics and practical work that sometimes leave us with no capacity to do what is generally considered to be typical “ministry.” It’s possible to get caught up in the sheer volume of people passing through and the busyness that accompanies it.

However, this summer, I have found that God has been showing me that the practical IS our ministry. Yes, our service in the practical is a valuable ministry in the obvious sense, but I mean even more than that: the way we live and the way we carry this out is our ministry. This is our life. God has called our community here to be, among other things, a training community, and we find that the way God uses us to train is through our everyday life; that is often how we do “ministry”. So this is what the last month or two have been like around here: a lot of practical work making a big impact in the hearts and lives of our guests and volunteers because of the power of the Holy Spirit. I sometimes feel like it doesn’t make an impact in the lives of the people that come, but I believe God has been showing me that our (and my) obedience to Him in the practical gives Him the platform, place, and atmosphere from which He can minister to and speak into the lives of those that come around. We do our best to be faithful, day in and day out, to follow what He asks of us, and when guests step into that with us, He impacts their lives. That fills me with a good sense of honor, to be a part of this community that keeps this place for people to encounter the Father.

But this goes two ways and the people that pass through also bless us a great deal. Each group or individual seems to give to us a part of the anointing that they carry and it spurs us on to keep moving forward. After each team leaves, I feel like we are left with a spiritual boost that drives us closer to the Father and closer to revival. It’s as if this mission here and this pursuit of revival is like the building of a brick road. Each team or individual lays down another large batch of brick. We, as the community that lives here, continue faithfully to build brick by brick, meter by meter, but when others come along side, even for a very short time, they lay kilometers. God has called us to cultivate this place physically and spiritually and to make it an atmosphere where He can move and work freely in the lives of others. It is not us, the staff of Bridges of Life, that God will use to bring revival here, but it is the us, the Global Body of Christ, that He is using. Faithfullness and obedience to the practical that He lays in front of us: that is our current ministry so that we can create that atmosphere and that place for God to impact those that He brings to us. It is our life here and it is our honor. 🙂


On a different note, I would like to ask you all to consider something as well. I am trying to put together a team of people who can commit to pray for me on a weekly basis. I send out an email each Sunday with prayer requests for me and for our community here. If you would like to be a part of that prayer team, just send me an email at JustinASmith151@gmail.com and let me know. I really appreciate those that have already been partnering with me in that way. You are a part of this ministry here and get to make an impact even if you happen to live across the ocean. Its pretty cool how God works like that. 😉

I also would like to ask you to consider joining me financially. I am still looking to raise about $400 more per month and I am asking for people to consider partnering with $10 a month or more. If I can get 40 or so people who can join in that way, I will be covered monthly, and I’ll have a lot of people who are a part of this ministry, which I think that is kinda cool 🙂

In the next couple months we have several things going on here. For July, we have less teams and we will be able to got some rest and some work done. France’s independence day is July 14th and that’s always a fun celebration. In August we have staff training and DTS training, and in September the next DTS starts that I will be a part of.

One last thing I want to mention. We really love having teams and individuals come here and be a part of what God is doing in the south of France. If you or your church is looking for a place to take a missions trip, please pray about coming here. You are always welcome. This is also a place where people come for periods of rest or to reconnect with the Father. If you’re interested in either of those, please pray about coming here. Email me if you would like more info; I can happily help you set up a trip or something. Our base website is ywambridges.com if you would like to see more about who we are. I’m actually really excited and passionate to see individuals or teams, from churches or friends I have been connected to, to come here. I really want to be able to share with the people that I know, what God is doing in France and see them get to be a part of it. If you’re at all interested, let me know. 🙂

Thanks for all your encouragement and prayers! If you ever want to know more about me or what I do here, please don’t hesitate to ask. Thank you all!

-Justin

 

John 13:34-35 NLT

So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.


Zechariah 4:6 NLT

Then he said to me, “This is what the Lord says to Zerubbabel: It is not by force nor by strength, but by my Spirit, says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies. 


Prayer points:

– For finances to be released to cover everything. God is faithful, I know He will provide. 🙂

– For strength, energy, and rest.

– For wisdom and guidance from the Lord for plans for the DTS and for open doors with the right outreach locations and contacts


Praise points:

– The process to exchange my American driver’s license has gone well. I am now just waiting for it to come in the mail.

– More and more people have been joining our Open Heavens worship night.

– Many people are interested in the next One Thing DTS. And the school leaders have found a nanny for the school time frame.

 

A “party” for the pastor of a local church here in St. Hippo who is retiring.

 

A team from Norway having fun in the courtyard.

 

Just hanging out, being weird, and fixing stuff. No big deal. 😉
Leave a Reply

