TWoL – April Surprise!

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


06 May 2016

Hi everyone! There is lots to talk about in this newsletter. A little more than a year ago, when I left for France, I knew when I would be in the US next: my sister’s 21st birthday. I wasn’t sure how, but I knew when. Things have not always been great between us mostly due to things that I did in the past. However, nowadays things are much better. God has brought a lot of healing between us. I knew for awhile that I wanted to do something special for her on her 21st birthday so that she would know how much she means to me. So on March 30, I left to go to the States. She had no idea.

My first stop was with my Aunt in Massachusetts. She and her main man Tom have been a great support to me in all of what I do here. I stayed there for about a week and a half before going to Arizona where my sister lives. Long story short, as there are many details I could include, on April 12 we celebrated her birthday. My brother and I got to the restaurant Olive Garden early and hid while we waited for her to arrive with her boyfriend. When they got there, we asked the servers to sing her happy birthday, and as they did, I snuck up behind them. You can see what happened after that in the video above. 🙂

I spent awhile in Arizona, about two weeks, and I got to spend some really good time with her and some more of my family that live there along with some old friends. It was a really good vacation. Afterward I went to Florida to see the rest of my family: my dad, his mom, and my other grandparents. I spent some more really good time with each of them. I do love my family! My time in Florida went by really fast. I also randomly got to speak at my old high school, Meadowbrook Academy. I went in just to say hi and see the teachers I knew, but then they invited me to speak to the kids there about missions. I ended up talking with 7th grade through 12th grade. It was so cool and I felt so honored to be asked to do that. It was great! 🙂

From Florida, I could have flown back to Europe, but as I was planning this trip, I felt like the Lord was leading me to go back to Massachusetts after Florida. So without knowing why, I did. During the first trip there at the beginning of April, I was looking for a church to connect with and I found one that has a missionary prayer meeting each Monday. I contacted them to find out more and through the course of our conversation, they invited me to come speak. And it worked out perfectly because it was right when I would be going back to Massachusetts. That was so God! I really enjoyed my time with them too. They are great, very caring people. The day after the prayer meeting I started my trip back to France and I got back here on Wednesday May 4.


So recently, right before this trip to the US, was my one year mark of being in missions. It’s been one of the best years of my life. It’s been really hard at times, but it’s always been so worth it. While on this trip and during these past few days in France, I’ve thought a lot about being a missionary. I love it, and just recently as I’ve been reflecting, I really believe this is the life that God has called me to. In the past I’ve doubted if that was for real, but somehow as I sit here writing this newsletter and I think about the future, I have so much more peace about being a missionary than I have before. And as I think about the next few years, I really believe this is what I will be doing. It may not always look the same, but for as long as the Lord wills, I will be a missionary.

There are a few things that God has really put on my heart. Things that I believe are my calling whether for my life or just this season, I’m not sure. Firstly, my call is to know God. To know His love more and more. I love Him and I will spend the rest of my life getting to know Him more and loving Him more. That is my first call. Always. Secondly, I have a heart for people that are marginalized. For people that even the world throws out or disregards. Thirdly, I have a heart for the nations. I have a heart to take the gospel to new places. To encourage the churches already there, to preach or evangelize, to bring others and train them, or simply to pray. As I try to define the ministry that I believe God has called me to, this is what I come up with. But I hold all these very loosely as the Lord can change my heart or the direction of my life very easily and I’m ok with that. 🙂 I’ll follow Him anywhere.

There is so much more I could say and maybe I will write about it on my blog one day, but I have just one more thing. I would like to ask for your support. To do what I believe God has called me to do, I need support in both the area of finances and prayer. At the moment I need about $1,400 to catch up to the end of this month with all my expenses. Of that I need about $140 before Tuesday so that I can pay for my French Visa to be renewed for one more year.

Also, I am still in need of more monthly support. I am needing 49 more people who can support this mission with at least $10 a month. If 50 people can do that, then I will be fully covered for my monthly expenses and have enough to save for conferences and just life in general. If you would please pray and ask the Lord if He would have you support what He is doing through me, I would greatly appreciate it. The easiest way to donate would be through the “Support” page on my blog. It is set up through Paypal. If you would like a tax deductible way to donate, just email me and I can help you set that up. Thank you everyone for your support and your prayers.

As always, please feel free to contact me anytime about anything. It is possible that I may not get emails if you just reply to this email, so if you don’t hear from me in a day or two, feel free to email me at JustinASmith151@gmail.com. Thank you all for watching what God does though my life! Love you all!

-Justin Smith

Deuteronomy 31:6 NASB

Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble at them, for the LORD your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail you or forsake you.

Isaiah 42:16 NASB

I [The Lord] will lead the blind by a way they do not know, In paths they do not know I will guide them. I will make darkness into light before them and rugged places into plains. These are the things I will do, and I will not leave them undone.

Hebrews 13:5 NASB

Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you,”


Prayer points:

– For confirmation of something I believe the Lord was saying about the near future.

– For finances to be released to cover everything. God is faithful, I know He will provide. 🙂

– That the visa renewal process will go smooth and that I would have continued favor with that.


Praise points:

-God provided for me to be able to see all my family in the States!

-Thankful for everything that God spoke to our community yesterday during a 24 hour prayer burn.

-Several people got healed last night at Open Heavens which is a worship night we host open to the anyone who wants to come.

 

Olive Garden after surprising my sister. 🙂

 

Family! 🙂 Not pictured here is Tom. Sorry man, I didn’t have any pics with you.

 

More Family! Not pictured here is my Grandma Sue. Sorry I didn’t get a picture with you Gma!
Leave a Reply

