TWoL – The last two weeks

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


DSC02330
Youth meeting that Aline led us to for her day.

01 Feb 2016

Alright so this newsletter is for the last two weeks. We got really busy last week and I didn’t quite have time to send a newsletter.

So the week before last we finished up our two week long English camp in Suhareka. It went really well. We only had about 70 students each day as opposed to 140, so that helped, to say the least. We got to spend some more time with people from the church too and that was a lot of fun. There are some really wonderful people in that church. As we were chatting with two of them, we were discussing random things about our cultures and I brought up “snipe hunting.” I explained how you walk around and call out, “here snipey snipey.” (If you’ve seen the movie “Up” then you for sure know what I’m talking about. If not then at least watch the first half of the movie.) At first they thought I was talking about a real military sniper. After we finished laughing about that, I continued to explain how its something we have to mess with young kids. They told us that they actually have something similar and its called a – and this a phonetic spelling – “halicondjury.” It seemed like that was also similar to what we call the boogeyman. haha It was fun; I love to learn about random cultural things like that.

After the English camp, we had a week where each of our students was given a day to plan, to prepare for, and to lead. Aline, Carole, Beth, and Fernand all got to lead last week and it went great. They each did a fantastic job in coordinating and executing their days. Aline set us up with some time to hear from Nick, the leader of YWAM Kosovo, about their vision for this nation and later that night she connected us with another youth group that meets every Tuesday night. We will be continuing to go to that each week as well. Carole organized a women’s day at the Nazarene church that we are a part of here. They invited anyone who wanted to come, and the heart behind it was to show the woman that came the love of Jesus and how valued they are. The next day Beth led us to a nearby city called Rahovec where we (representing YWAM Kosovo) got to meet for the first time an organization there that does a lot of work with community and youth development. They have been making a big difference, and they have really great people working with them too. Our desire in meeting them is that we will be able to build a bridge that other YWAM teams can use to partner with this organization to help them and learn from them. On Friday, Fernand also led us to another town and village. Most of the team went to see another ministry called “Water for Life” that helps to bring clean and safe water to the villages here in Kosovo. They also got to visit and pray for the city in which the war started just less than 20 years ago.

These last two weeks have been great. The students have been doing such a great job and I am proud of them! We passed our half way mark a little while back and we are happily steaming forward. We look forward to what God has in store for us and for this county in the next month! Thank you all for your prayer and support! 🙂

-Justin Smith

 

Isaiah 12 ESV

You will say in that day: “I will give thanks to you, O Lord, for though you were angry with me, your anger turned away, that you might comfort me. “Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the Lord God is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation.” With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation. And you will say in that day: “Give thanks to the Lord, call upon his name, make known his deeds among the peoples, proclaim that his name is exalted. “Sing praises to the Lord, for he has done gloriously; let this be made known in all the earth. Shout, and sing for joy, O inhabitant of Zion, for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.”


Prayer points:

– For more wisdom to know how to lead. More and more. haha
– For my health along with several other people.
– That God would give Claire and I more insight and discernment for the team and what God is doing.
– Thanksgiving for the Nazarene church here that was been a huge blessing to our whole team in many ways.
– Thanksgiving for All that God has done here so far! Many good stories!

 

This is when we discovered the “halicondjury.” haha

 

All pilled into a jeep coming home from an awesome prayer and worship night in Mitrovica! #ywamstyle

 

When Claire and I were meeting with the YWAM Kosovo leaders several weeks ago, we met a really famous Kosovar boxing champion. Nick suggested we get a picture with him. haha
Leave a Reply

