TWoL Issue 3

This is my personal emailed newsletter called “The Way of Love.” The name is based on the name of my blog, “The Beginnings Of.” I started my blog when I started my DTS with YWAM and I knew it was the beginning of something big but I didn’t know what. I have been wondering ever since then what exactly it was the beginning of and I felt like God gave me the answer in October of 2015 at a prophetic conference while I was listening to one of the speakers: “The Way of Love.”


 

19 Dec 2015

Week three. Oh boy. This was a very interesting week. It was actually very challenging for me personally. God took me on a very unexpected journey into my heart as an answer to a prayer. Just know guys, sometimes praying is very dangerous. haha God seems to actually take us seriously when we pray, believe it or not. Especially when we pray for our own humility.

You see, that’s what I did at the beginning of the week. I prayed. I asked for more humility. And to top it off, I did so while praying for someone else. I even told God that I was doing so in front of this man so that there would be a witness to me asking for more humility. As a result, the entire week has consisted of many ups and downs for me. I have seen what a wretched man I am (Romans 7). I have seen a model to help me understand what brokenness is and what it looks like in leadership (King David). I have also seen another aspect of God’s character that He is still continuing to show me. Through it all, God has revealed many areas of pride in my life. It surprised me and I tried to fight it, but nevertheless, it is remained true. haha

But it has been so good. It was caused a huge change in my worldview and perspective on many things. It is still a big work in progress and there are many more things I could say about it but I will leave that for another time. Even though its been very tough at times, I am very thankful for it as it is (hopefully) producing brokenness in me (Psalm 51:17). And brokenness, I am finding, pleases God.

Prayer points:
– For wisdom to know how to walk out this new understanding of authority.
– For guidance for Claire and I continue to lean on God to lead this team.
– For more favor and open doors with people in this city.
– That God would lead us to exactly where He wants us each day.
– That we would have some really cool God stories!

Thank you everyone for your support and prayers! Email me anytime with questions or comments. I would love to chat! 🙂 Love you all!

-Justin Smith

 

A game of “Fruit Basket” we played at an English Camp we did this week.

 

This is apparently what happens when you leave your phone at the dinner table when you go to the bathroom…

 

We got to celebrate Madison’s birthday by going to see the new Star Wars movie! It was really really good! 🙂
Leave a Reply

