Feet May Fail

Feet that may fail.

One of my favorite songs is “Oceans” by Hillsong. Its also kinda annoying. Its my favorite because it is really intense, lyric wise, and it annoying for the same reason. Not many people who sing it really take time to listen to the lyrics of the song. I’ve read plenty of things about that very topic so thats not the direction Im going with the post and thats what annoys me about it. But I want to talk about why I love it.

So I was just listening to it again and the first part of the song really stuck out to me. “You call me out upon the waters. The great unknown. Where feet may fail.” “Where feet may fail.” You might fail. I might fail. I have failed. And not just a little bit. It is a very real risk when we step out into the “great unknown”. Its something that God has been teaching me lately. He is not afraid of failure. Im not saying to go fail on purpose, but dont be afraid of it. Instead, step out where you could fail, because if you do fail, you fall on Jesus. But what if you dont fail?

The next bit of the song goes on to say, “And there I find you in the mystery. In oceans deep, my faith will stand.” There is intimacy to be found in the “great unknown.”

“Can you fathom the mysteries of God? Can you probe the limits of the Almighty?” Job 11:7 NIV

 

“It is the glory of God to conceal a matter; to search out a matter is the glory of kings.” Proverbs 25:2 NIV

He wants us to discover what lies in the “great unknown.” And as the song continues, we hear, “I am yours. And you are mine.” It sounds a lot like another verse.

“I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine;” Song of Solomon 6:3 NIV.

And then theres the clincher: “Spirit lead me where my trust is with out borders. Let me walk upon the waters wherever You would call me. Take me deeper that my feet could ever wonder. And my faith will be made stronger in the Presence of my Saviour.” Whoa! See what I mean? Intense huh? “Where my trust is without borders”?? You realise that doesn’t just mean country borders? That means every border or wall we put up in our hearts too. We ask that He leads us to a place in life where we trust Him with every single facet of our life. Every facet. All of it. And then the next line?! We are asking Him to take us to a place of faith and trust were we follow His leading in absolutely crazy scenarios, everywhere we go. Yep. This sounds like life with Jesus to me.

I’m not picking this song apart to treat it like Scripture. However, this is what we declare whenever we sing it. Do we really mean it? Thats why its one of my favorite songs. I truly want Him to lead me to these places. But there is another aspect of this. The cost. Your feet may fail. He won’t. But you could. “Walking on the water” could mean selling everything you own because He asked you to be a missionary in a foreign country. It could mean He asks you to be a missionary to New York City millionaires and maintain an intimate relationship with Him. It could mean He asks you to potentially sacrifice you popularity and be a missionary in your high school or your well paying job. This is what we invite Him to ask us when we declare these things. But He always gives us the choice. Thats His love.

Thats why this song is one of my favorites. Because it is intense. Because its a reminder of what life with Jesus can look like. And because its a reminder to always have this kind of heart cry towards God.

Leave a Reply

