Week Two

So like I mentioned in my last post, we were challenged to go 24 hours barefoot. I woke up the following day and began the challenge. The first several hours were not bad, but as the day went on, it got more difficult and painful. I started to imagine how it would be if I was always barefoot, which I suppose was part of the point of the challenge. I cannot imagine having always been barefoot or even just doing it for four years. It gave me a new heart for the children in Thailand living barefoot in garbage dumps because, last time I checked, garbage dumps don’t have tile floors. The following day I was very thankful to put on a pair of shoes.

For week 2 our topic was “The Character of God.” Our speaker was Pastor Blake Mattoks from Faith Bible Chapel. What an awesome man of God! We had an amazing week learning from him.

Toward the end of the week we attended a Power and Love conference at a local church. Among the speakers where Todd White and Robbie Dawkins. If you’ve never heard of them, I encourage you to watch the movie Father of Lights. Actually, I just flat out encourage you to watch that movie even if you’ve already seen it. It’s so good! Anyway, we got to hear them speak about who we are in Christ, our identity as children of the King of Kings. We also got to go out and practice loving on complete strangers and then come back to hear testimonies of what happened.

Overall, it was a really busy week, but it was packed full of so much good stuff. Little did I know even better was yet to come…

Leave a Reply

